top of page
  • keshav2107memani

Have we got our President before the elections??

Updated: Jun 23, 2022

Indian Presidential elections,2022 is around the corner. Its time to say Goodbye to President Ram Nath Kovind.

There are two Candidates contesting elections for the President of India-

1) Draupadi Murmu who is the candidate from NDA (Ruling party BJP + Alliance).

2) Yashwant Sinha who is the Candidate from UPA(Congress+ TMC+ NCP etc. and all other alliance).

When is the date for elections, results and do we have to participate in voting system?

The date for elections is 18th July 2022 and the results will be announced on 21st July 2022.No we don’t have to participate. Only MP and MLA vote for the election of President of India.

What is the System of voting and elections of President of India?

Elections for the office of the president of India takes place by an electoral college comprising the members of both the houses of Parliament and the members of the legislative assemblies of all the states and union territories.

Let’s understand One by one.

Who can vote?


So total how many votes?


Lok-Sabha- 545 (may be less due to death, resignation but this is maximum).

Rajya-Sabha- 231(may be more or less but around these).


Around 4019(may be more or less but around these).

**Total votes- 545+231+4019=4795.

Now here’s a twist- I have told you earlier that President of India is elected through electoral college-

If you replace the word Electoral College by voting power then you will understand that-

  • The Value of vote of an MP and MLA is not same.

  • The value of an MLA of a state with larger population as per 1971 census is more powerful than MLA of a state with less population.

Formula for calculation of voting power:-

MLA={ Total population of the state as per 1971 census/number of MLA}/1000.

MP= {Total number of votes of MlA/Total number of elected MP’s}.

**total votes of an MLA=votes*voting power

So, from this fact it is evident that an Uttar Pradesh MLA will have more valuable voting Power than an Sikkim or North-eastern MLA.

Lets take the example of President elections,2017

Ram Nath Kovind, the NDA candidate secured total 2930 voDndidate secured total 2930 votes.,the NDA candidate secured total 2930 votes.

Meera Kumar ,the UPA candidate secured total 1844 votes.

  • The voting power of MP was -708,As I told you earlier value of MLA depends on population and number of MLA in the state assembly.

**So total result was-

Ram Nath Kovind=702044(65.65%).

Meera Kumar=367314(34.35%).

Its time for Practicality;-

This is clear from the above that the party which is in power in Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and the party which rules majority of the states wins the election. so, looking at the facts,

  • Lok sabha-330/545=BJP led NDA has edge over it.

  • Rajya Sabha= BJP led NDA has 110 seats whereas Congress Led UPA has 124 seats so UPA has edge over it.

But in total = BJP led NDA has an edge.

States ruled by BJP led NDA are Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka, Gujarat, Assam, Andhra Pradesh, Orissa etc.

States ruled by Congress led UPA are-Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, West Bengal, Jharkhand etc.

There is a tight competition here.

But the more populous states are held by BJP so it is evident that Draupadi Murmu will win(prediction on facts) and she will be the next President. Let's see who takes the oath as President of India in presence of Chief Justice of India N.V. Ramana.

Hope you like the blog.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page